로그인, 회원가입후 더 많은 혜택을 누리세요 Login SignUp 닫기

Student Life > Pai Chai University > Others


Daejeon is the center of science in South Korea.

Daejeon is located in the center of South Korea with an approximate land area of 539.78㎢ housing some 1,495,048 people. With the success of the Daejeon Expo in 1993, the city began to concentrate its efforts in promoting itself as a city of science and technology. Daejeon is also designated by the Central Government as the country’s second administrative capital (after Seoul), with the central governmental buildings erected in 1997. Since rebranding the city from a science and technology perspective, the government chose Daedeok as its main R&D zone to form a base to promote international business cooperation in science, and to enhance its standing in international community.


Located in central Korea, Daejeon has a mild climate with an average temperature of of 12.3°C (Celsius). The coldest month is January with an average temperature of -1.9°C, and hottest month is August average temperature of 25.5°C. The highest temperature ever recorded was 37.7°C on July 24, 1994, and the lowest was -19.0°C on February 6, 1969. Korea's average annual precipitation is 1,353mm, but the amount of precipitation varies greatly according to the season. In the summer months, due to the North Pacific high atmospheric pressures, the region receives 55 percent of its total yearly precipitation, while the month of December has the lowest precipitation rate.


Daejeon is a city with a long history, with evidence of settlements from as far back as the Old Stone Age.

With the construction of the Seoul-Busan Railway lines in the 1900s and the relocation of the Chungcheong-Namdo Office in 1932, Daejeon started its swift expansion. Specifically, the Daedeok Science Town, which began its development in 1974, has now become one of the national centers of science and technology. It also had had a great impact in making Daejeon a hub of science and technology. The relocation of 10 major government ministries and agencies to Daejeon in 1998 helped Daejeon become a city of administration. These two major advancements have contributed towards the modernization and growth of Daejeon.


3.Daejeon Tomorrow

Daejeon is a center for research and development that encourages research and development initiations, as well as support for venture businesses set-up by researchers from one of the many research institutes housed in the city. The Daedeok R&D zone has seen many scientific innovations originating from Korea. In particular, the development of the Daedeok Science Town in 1973 has built solid foundation for Daejeon to become a platform for scientific progress. Currently, there are over 241 research oriented educational institutions located in Daejeon, including KAIST (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology), ETRI (Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute), KARI (Korea Aerospace Research Institute), and KAERI (Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute).
Daejeon is the new administrative capital of Korea. In 1990, the Central Government decided to relocate multiple ministries to Daejeon with the aim to bring about a more balanced development of the country. Since 1997 four buildings have been constructed to house, nine ministries of Korea Customs Service, Public Procurement, Cultural Heritage, Korea Forest Service, Intellectual Property Office, Military Manpower, Small and Medium Business Administrations, National Statistic Office, and National Archives moved in to Daejeon.